On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the exact CHWA80A meet at least 24.91 pints/day on its 65°F/60% RH rating?
Yes: the exact manual and EPA record list 24.91 pints/day at 65°F/60% RH. The separate 80-pint headline uses 95°F/90% RH.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the unit drain continuously to a lower floor drain?
Yes, with the included 3.3-foot hose routed smoothly downward to a point at least 3.94 inches below the drain port; an obstructed or kinked hose can back water into the tank.
Explore this need in the finder →Can it pump to a raised drain?
Yes only for the CHWA150PA, which includes a built-in pump and 16.4-foot hose; its maximum vertical lift is not stated. The other exact offers have no built-in pump.
Explore this need in the finder →Is ENERGY STAR certification confirmed, and is app control confirmed?
The exact EPA record lists ENERGY STAR certification and Connected Capable: No. App control is not a confirmed feature and cannot satisfy an essential app requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →Can it operate without the collection tank fitted?
The family manual documents the fitted tank and gravity drain, but does not establish bucketless operation or tank-removal conditions for the drain route. Keep bucketless status unknown; an essential bucketless request is not a match.
Explore this need in the finder →The Waykar CHWA80A is a portable, fixed-vent dehumidifier with an 80-pint maximum rating, a 1.45-gallon tank and ENERGY STAR certification. The headline is not the number to use for every room: Waykar and the exact family manual rate 80 pints per day at 95°F/90% RH, while the manual and EPA record identify a 24.91-pint standard-condition rating. That difference makes the CHWA80A a plausible fit for a large, warm, damp area, but not an automatic match for a request that requires 80 pints under ordinary room conditions.
This assessment uses Waykar’s exact CHWA80A page and offer, the manual listing CHWA80A, CHWA120A, CHWA150A and CHWA150PA, and the EPA ENERGY STAR record for CHWA80A. That certification record is not an independent room test.
Waykar’s exact CHWA80A page links this white cabinet view. It shows the top outlet, tank-level window, wheels and ENERGY STAR label, but no model plate; whether it is a photograph or rendering is not identified.
Compare the rating at the conditions you actually have
The manual’s capacity table makes the headline’s context plain: 24.91 pints per day at 65°F/60% RH, 33.7 at 80°F/60% RH, 50.8 at 86°F/80% RH and 80 at 95°F/90% RH. The EPA entry agrees on 24.91 pints per day and lists 1.9 L/kWh, 260 kWh per year, ENERGY STAR certification and “Most Efficient: Yes.” The manual gives an IEF of 1.85 L/kWh rather than 1.9, so I keep the two reported efficiency values distinct instead of averaging them. Annual energy figures are standardized estimates, not a prediction of your electric bill.
Waykar’s 5,000-square-foot coverage figure is a manufacturer estimate, not a guarantee that one portable unit will control every connected room or an unfinished basement. The room’s leakage, doors, temperature and continuing moisture source matter. The manual requires 18 inches of clearance above and around the appliance and a space of at least 43 square feet. Treat it as room equipment, not a ducted whole-home system or a substitute for fixing water entry.
A modest tank argues for a nearby floor drain
The 5.5-liter/1.45-gallon tank is convenient for placement and short periods without a drain, but it is small beside the 80-pint hot-and-humid maximum. If the appliance approaches that maximum, the tank would need frequent attention; actual collection varies with conditions. The manual’s full-tank indicator stops the compressor and warns you to empty the tank. That is useful protection, not continuous unattended drainage.
Waykar lists an included 3.3-foot gravity hose. The manual says the outlet must remain at least 3.94 inches below the drain port and the route must slope smoothly without a kink or blockage. The CHWA80A has no documented lift pump: it cannot be treated as a way to send water upward to a sink or over a foundation wall. A bucketless arrangement is also not documented, so it should not be selected when an empty-tank-only requirement is essential.
Controls are practical, not connected-home features
The shared manual documents three fan speeds, a 30–80% RH target in 5-point increments, a 24-hour timer, child lock, automatic defrost, a filter-clean reminder after about 250 operating hours and restart behavior after a power interruption. The operating range is 41–95°F. EPA lists this exact model as not connected-capable, so Wi-Fi or app control should not be assumed. The product gallery uses a 47 dB sound claim, but Waykar does not state a measurement method or distance there; it is not an independently measured noise result.
Who should choose the CHWA80A?
Choose it when the exact standardized capacity, the room’s warm-season conditions, ENERGY STAR status and a nearby lower drain all suit your plan. Its 80-pint label is meaningful at the stated high-temperature/high-humidity test, but the finder’s standard-condition figure is closer to 25 pints. The 120-pint CHWA120A has a higher standard-condition rating and a similar 1.45-gallon tank; the 150-pint CHWA150A adds capacity and a larger tank, while the CHWA150PA is the family’s only documented pump version. For an uphill drain, even the pump model’s published hose length is not a stated vertical lift limit. If the CHWA80A’s short gravity route will not reach, choose a verified pump plan rather than stretching its hose claim.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 24.91 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Built-in lift pump | No |
| Published bucket capacity | 1.45 gal |
| Wi-Fi enabled | No |
| ENERGY STAR certified | Yes |
| Published dimensions | No exact dimensions or dry weight were found in the reviewed exact page, shared manual, or ENERGY STAR record. |
More specifications and setup details
| Published integrated energy factor | 1.9 L/kWh |
|---|---|
| Capacity rating test conditions | The shared exact-model manual lists 24.91 pints/day at 65°F/60% RH, and the exact ENERGY STAR record repeats that standard rating. The separate 80-pint/day label is tested at 95°F/90% RH. The 80°F/60% and 86°F/80% figures are distinct manual test points, not ordinary-room guarantees. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
