Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need the 60-pint class, Wi-Fi and a pump route?
Danby’s exact page rates this model at 60 pints/day and lists Wi-Fi/app and a vertical pump. Its exact manual requires the bucket and limits the supplied pump hose to 15 ft total; maximum vertical rise is not stated.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a 15-foot pump-hose route enough without assuming a 15-foot lift?
The manual documents a maximum total hose length of 15 feet but does not specify a separate vertical maximum. That distinction matters if an uphill route is essential.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the 18.78-inch-wide cabinet fit your opening?
Danby lists 18.78 inches of cabinet width and a 57.8-pound dry weight. Leave the manual’s airflow clearance and consider access for moving a filled unit.
Explore this need in the finder →DDR060BMP2WDB is the larger-capacity Danby in this family: its exact U.S. page labels it 60 pints per day and advertises 4,000 square feet, with pump and Wi-Fi included. It is also materially larger and heavier than the 50-pint compact app models. Its refrigerant field is deliberately left unresolved here: the product page and exact-cover manual say R32, while the manufacturer’s exact specification PDF says R410a.
When the 60-pint step is relevant
The page’s 60-pint rating is the main reason to compare this model with the 50-pint variants. It also has Wi-Fi, a bucket-full app indicator, local Smart Dehumidify, two fan speeds, a vertical pump, a separate gravity drain, auto restart and de-icing, a 24-hour timer, washable filter, and an advertised low-temperature function down to 5°C. The 4,000-square-foot figure is an area claim, not a guarantee for a particular basement or whole home. Do not read “60 pint” as a promise that the same volume will be extracted under any temperature, humidity or airflow condition.
It measures 18.78 inches wide, 14.17 deep and 24.61 high; Danby lists a dry weight of 57.8 pounds. That is 15 pounds heavier than the compact 50-pint Wi-Fi/pump BSPWDB and takes a deeper, taller position. Roll it on a level hard surface rather than moving it with water in the bucket, and include required clearance around the intake and outlet. The 60-pint capacity can be compelling when a 50-pint threshold is genuinely too low, but the additional capacity is not worth sacrificing the route, footprint or handling fit.
Its pump still starts from the bucket
The exact page-linked owner manual (cover date 2024.12.09; PDF filename dated 2025.01.15) describes three separate plans: fitted-bucket collection, gravity drainage and pump drainage. The bucket must remain installed for operation, including continuous routes. With the pump, water first accumulates in the tank and then the pump arm sends it through the provided hose. Danby limits that hose to 4.6 metres (15 feet) total and warns against joining another hose. This manual does not state a separate vertical lift height, so do not treat 15 feet of total hose as 15 feet of vertical rise.
Gravity is a different installation. The manual says to obtain a garden hose and female-threaded end, run the hose straight down to a lower bucket or floor drain, and keep it to six feet. Any bend or upward section can stop gravity flow. Before using either automatic route, check that the drain ports are clear. The manual also warns that water can flow from the pump outlet even when a hose is disconnected if the pump is left active, and recommends periodic attention to water remaining in the bucket. If your outlet is above the appliance, measure the actual rise and distance and contact Danby if the missing maximum vertical-head number is essential.
Wi-Fi and Smart mode are separate features
The app indicator provides remote status, including a full-bucket notice, and Danby lists Wi-Fi on this exact SKU. But a notification does not make the unit bucketless, prevent a full tank, or guarantee a network connection in a basement. Smart Dehumidify is a local temperature-responsive humidity mode, not app control. If you want a chosen target, the manual documents conventional adjustable operation as a separate option. The site’s matcher can distinguish app requirement from Smart mode because one does not imply the other.
There is also a document conflict worth knowing before treating refrigerant as a selection criterion. The exact product page names R32; the exact model-cover manual also identifies R32 as the refrigerant. The exact U.S. specification PDF instead lists R410a for the same model. Since those are manufacturer documents that disagree, this assessment does not publish one as settled fact; the unit’s rating label and Danby’s clarification should resolve it. That conflict does not erase the model identity or the manual’s drainage instructions, but it means this field cannot answer a refrigerant-specific need.
Who should compare it
Consider it if you need the 60-pint published class, accept a larger 57.8-pound body, want both app control and a pump option, and can keep the full pump-hose route within the manual’s 15-foot limit. If a 50-pint class is sufficient and the low-height cabinet is more convenient, the BSPWDB is shorter and lighter but its manual gives a different 16-foot maximum distance-and-rise specification. The ME model adds an explicit ENERGY STAR claim but has no pump. A bucketless gravity installation is not documented for any of these Danby configurations.
Keep the filter installed, clean it about every two weeks, use the unit on a stable level floor and leave the instructed clearance. The manual says not to operate it in a wet room where splashing may reach the appliance. The 5°C minimum function does not promise the same capacity at cold temperatures. The good choice is therefore not “the biggest machine” by default; it is the capacity and operating plan that can actually fit your moisture problem and water destination.
Manufacturer sources
See Danby’s exact DDR060BMP2WDB U.S. page, its 2025.01.15 model-cover owner manual, and the exact specification sheet. The specification conflict is preserved rather than guessed away. Danby’s page-linked front image shows an exterior cabinet, not pump internals; image presentation may be photo or render.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 60 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Built-in lift pump | Yes |
| Wi-Fi enabled | Yes |
| Bucketless operating mode | No |
| Published product weight | 57.8 lb |
| Controls and settings | The page lists a 60-pint rating, app/Wi-Fi bucket-full indicator, local Smart Dehumidify and two manual fan speeds. Those functions do not establish guaranteed water output in a particular room. The product page and exact manual say R32 while the exact U.S. spec-sheet browser observation says R410a; the refrigerant fact is therefore left unresolved rather than choosing one source. |
| Water-removal setup | The exact manual documents a fitted bucket, gravity route and pump route; it says the appliance does not work without the bucket. The supplied pump hose is limited to 15 ft total and no distinct vertical-lift maximum is stated. Gravity requires a straight downhill route of up to 6 ft. Do not treat the total hose number as a verified vertical rise. |
| Care and operating limits | Danby lists 5°C low-temperature operation and a washable filter; the manual recommends ambient use from 5–32°C and a filter check light after 250 operating hours. The cabinet is 57.8 lb before water, so use the casters on an appropriate level surface and avoid moving it with a full tank. Keep the hose safely routed and the bucket seated. |
| Exact model detail | Danby’s exact U.S. page identifies DDR060BMP2WDB at 60 pints/day and advertises up to 4,000 sq. ft. The area figure is a manufacturer claim, not a performance guarantee. Published cabinet dimensions are 18.78 × 14.17 × 24.61 in; published dry weight is 57.8 lb. No room-specific extraction or live inventory claim is made. |
| Pump-hose reach | 15 ft |
| Temperature-responsive Smart Dehumidify | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
