Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the existing FFAD3033R1 meet a 30-pint/day rating minimum?
Yes. Frigidaire’s 06/20 sheet gives this exact U.S. model a 30-pint/day rating. The unit is discontinued, so the rating is useful for identification rather than a new-buy match.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the linked guide document a lower gravity-drain setup?
Yes. It describes a hose connected to the drain outlet and routed toward a nearby drain without kinks or elevations. The documents do not establish an upward pump route.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the U.S. FFAD3033R1 fit a 33.5-pound dry-weight limit?
No. Its exact U.S. support page lists 34 pounds. The Canadian FFAD3033RE page separately lists 36.1 pounds; neither figure should be transferred across suffixes.
Explore this need in the finder →The discontinued Frigidaire FFAD3033R1 is a 30-pint-per-day dehumidifier with a compact body, a 7.6-pint bucket and a gravity-drain connection. It is useful as an identification and ownership reference for an existing unit, not as a new-purchase recommendation. Frigidaire's shared 06/20 sheet also names the Canadian FFAD3033RE, but its listed weight and certification belong to that Canadian support page and should not be transferred to the U.S. R1.
Evidence: Frigidaire's exact U.S. FFAD3033R1 support page, its 06/20 model specification sheet, and the Use & Care guide linked by the exact model page. Frigidaire marks the U.S. model discontinued. The support page was inspected in its rendered form; a local raw HTML copy is not claimed.
This is the white FFAD3033R1 image linked in Frigidaire's exact model gallery. The cabinet, top controls and circular bucket window are visible, but the image does not show internal water hardware. Frigidaire does not state whether it is a photograph or rendering.
A smaller rated class, not a room-size guarantee
The exact 06/20 specification sheet names FFAD3033R1 and gives a rating of 30 pints per day (14 liters per day). That number describes the manufacturer's rating, not a promise that a room will yield 30 pints every day. Temperature, humidity, air exchange and new moisture entering the space all influence actual collection. The page's “Small Room” name is not a substitute for evaluating the room and the conditions in which the unit will operate.
The sheet lists a 7.6-pint front-pull bucket, or just under one U.S. gallon. For an existing appliance, that modest tank is the practical limit on unattended bucket use: the unit stops when the bucket-full condition is reached, then needs to be emptied and seated correctly before it can resume. The bucket gives you a visible place for the water but does not make the appliance hands-off. If frequent emptying is inconvenient, check whether a lower floor drain is available before choosing a bucket-only routine.
Gravity drainage is documented; pump lift is not
The sheet lists continuous-drain operation, and the linked owner guide explains the gravity setup: open the side drain cover, connect the adapter and a garden hose, secure the connection against leaks, and direct the hose toward a drain without kinks or upward sections. Treat it as a downhill route. The guide does not state a maximum lift height or describe a built-in pump, so a raised sink or window is not a supported use case on the evidence available here.
That distinction matters because “continuous drain” only means the water can leave without repeated bucket emptying; it does not tell you that the appliance can push water uphill. The manual's drainage section says removing the bucket may help the installer see the connection better, but that is not documentation of running bucketless. If tank-free operation is essential, or the outlet sits above the unit, use a model whose exact manual explicitly describes that arrangement rather than inferring it from the hose connection.
Controls and airflow for an older compressor routine
Frigidaire's sheet lists three fan speeds, airflow figures of 100 cubic feet per minute on low and 124 on high, and 52 dBA at high. Those are manufacturer specifications, not our measurements or a room-specific noise prediction. The electronic top-center controls include a digital humidity readout; the sheet gives a 35–85% relative-humidity range, and the linked manual describes five-point setting steps and a timer with delayed start or stop from half an hour up to 24 hours.
The specification lists 320 watts, 3.2 amps and 115 volts. These are electrical ratings, not a forecast of a household bill. The rear filter is washable, and the manual recommends removing and cleaning it every two weeks under normal use. Its filter reminder comes on after 250 operating hours. Clean airflow paths and a properly seated bucket are routine tasks, not optional add-ons.
Plan the actual placement and handle the exact suffix
The sheet gives cabinet dimensions of 13 13/16 inches high by 10 4/16 inches wide by 20 8/16 inches deep. The U.S. support page lists FFAD3033R1 at 34 pounds. Those are separate measurements: the body is relatively short, but it still occupies a 20.5-inch depth before you allow room for airflow and hose routing. The linked guide calls for a level floor, at least 12 inches of clearance, an enclosed operating area and a 41–90°F range. It warns against use in a small closet because the unit generates heat.
The Canadian support page identifies FFAD3033RE as a discontinued 30-pint model and gives it a different 36.1-pound product weight and an ENERGY STAR certification field of “Yes.” The U.S. R1 page gives 34 pounds; its 06/20 sheet does not give an ENERGY STAR field. The shared sheet explicitly names both R1 and RE, so the RE is a real related variant, but country-specific values stay attached to their own exact suffix and market. This review's U.S. matching record does not use the Canadian certification as an R1 shopping attribute.
Who should use this review?
Use this page if the nameplate says FFAD3033R1 and you need to identify its rating, controls or basic drain arrangement. The capacity and the shorter cabinet distinguish it from the 70-pint FFAD7033R1, but both are discontinued references and neither gains a buying recommendation here. For a current Frigidaire comparison, the separately reviewed FHDD3534Y1 has a different 35-pint rating, current-reference status, Wi-Fi and a gravity-only drainage plan; its details are not transferable to this older unit. If you are deciding how to drain an existing R1, first measure the outlet's height and confirm the hose can descend continuously. If the water must be lifted, look for an exact model manual that establishes a pump and a sufficient lift limit.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 30 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Published bucket capacity | 0.95 gal |
| Published high-fan sound rating | 52 dBA |
| Published dimensions | Version 06/20 manufacturer sheet; H × W × D are listed separately in the dossier. |
| Published product weight | 34 lb |
| Controls and settings | Electronic top-center controls, digital humidity readout, 35–85% humidity setting, three fan speeds and timer; see exact sheet and linked family guide. |
| Water-removal setup | Linked family guide documents a hose route to a nearby drain without kinks or elevations; no pump-lift plan or bucketless running plan is established. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
