Model assessment · GE

GE ADEL20LY 20-Pint Dehumidifier review

Discontinued U.S. GE 20-pint/day portable dehumidifier with a 6.8-pint bucket, three fan speeds, 2.0 L/kWh IEF and documented bucket or lower-gravity drainage.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Front view of the white GE ADEL20LY dehumidifier.
White upright dehumidifier front with a wide front grille, top-rear opening/controls, pocket handle and narrow vertical water-level window. The exact product page serves this model-specific image; the manufacturer does not state photograph-versus-render status. GE Appliances — exact ADEL20LY product-page image
A useful fit for

For an existing ADEL20LY owner checking the exact rating, taller cabinet, bucket/gravity setup or maintenance instructions. GE lists it as discontinued, so it is not a new-buy recommendation.

The main tradeoff

A 20-pint/day rating and 2.0 L/kWh IEF sit in a 24-inch-tall, 30.9-pound body with a 6.8-pint bucket. The manual documents a fitted bucket or lower gravity hose, not pump lift or bucketless use.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can ADEL20LY use a lower gravity drain without relying on an uphill pump?

The exact manual documents a bucket or garden hose to a lower floor drain; it requires the bucket to be reseated. No pump-lift or bucketless setup is established, and GE marks the model discontinued.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its 20-pint rating meet a 35-pint/day minimum?

No. GE lists 20 pints/day. Raising a minimum to 35 pints/day changes the suitable capacity class; the old ADEL20LY remains an owner reference rather than a match.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is ADEL20LY a current recommendation because its published IEF is 2.0?

No. The 2.0 L/kWh IEF is a manufacturer-listed value, but the exact support record shows production ended in August 2022. A standards-based value does not change its discontinued status or predict a specific household bill.

Explore this need in the finder →

ADEL20LY is a discontinued GE 20-pint/day dehumidifier. This is an owner-reference assessment, not a new-buy recommendation. Its exact U.S. specification describes a relatively tall 20-pint cabinet with a 6.8-pint bucket, three fan speeds and a 2.0 L/kWh integrated energy factor. The owner manual documents bucket collection or a lower gravity drain, with the bucket kept in place for operation.

The exact identity and specifications come from GE’s ADEL20LY product page, its owner-support record, the linked 49-5000396 manual and GE’s three-model comparison. The support record dates manufacture from June 2019 through August 2022 and the product page says it is no longer being manufactured.

The product image is the white ADEL20LY shown on its exact GE page: a tall front-grille cabinet with top-rear discharge, pocket handle and a narrow water-level window. GE does not state whether the image is a photograph or a studio rendering.

A 20-pint rating in a taller footprint

The published removal rating is 20 pints per day, and the front-removable bucket holds 6.8 pints. These figures answer different questions: the rated capacity is not a promise that a particular room will yield 20 pints each day, while the bucket is the amount collected before emptying is needed. If the unit is left on bucket-only operation in a damp space, the water-full switch stops the appliance until the bucket is emptied and reseated.

GE lists the dry unit at 30.9 pounds and 24 inches high by 14.75 inches wide by 11.375 inches deep. Hidden wheels and a pocket handle help move it, but they do not make its tall cabinet a fit for a low shelf. The manual asks for a smooth, level surface, at least 18 inches of clearance around the appliance and an indoor environment from 41°F to 90°F. Leave space for the top-rear outlet rather than enclosing the unit in a closet.

Choose the drain route before the controls

The 49-5000396 manual presents two water-removal arrangements: use the bucket, or attach a garden hose (not supplied) and direct it downhill to a floor drain. The bucket must be replaced and securely seated after the hose is attached. That is a gravity route—not an upward pump. If your drain is above the machine, the ADEL20LY documents no pump-lift plan; a long hose does not create one. It also does not document bucketless operation.

The hose arrangement avoids repeated bucket emptying only when the outlet is lower and the hose can keep a continuous downward path. Check the drain location, hose fitting and clearance before planning the installation. For an existing ADEL20LY, use GE’s exact manual rather than a newer model’s instructions: similar-looking dehumidifiers can differ in tank seating, pump equipment and hose setup.

Efficiency and sound numbers are model-specific ratings

The page lists three fan speeds, 47 dBA at low and 51 dBA at maximum, 440 watts, 3.7 amps at 115 volts and an integrated energy factor of 2.0 L/kWh. These are GE’s published specifications, not measurements in a lived-in room or a forecast of your utility bill. The IEF allows a standards-based comparison; actual energy use depends on humidity, temperature, set point and run time. The product’s 500-square-foot room-size field is a manufacturer guide, not a guarantee that one appliance will control moisture throughout a home.

The electronic control specification includes two- and four-hour off-timer options, automatic defrost, automatic shutoff and a washable slide-out filter. The manual says to check and clean the filter at least every 250 operating hours and wash the bucket every few weeks. Wi-Fi or voice-assistant control is not established by this exact model’s individual specification fields; do not infer connectivity from a generic page banner or from a related GE appliance.

How it differs from the other GE 20-pint suffix

ADEW20LY is not just a spelling variation. GE rates it at the same 20 pints per day and 6.8-pint bucket, but gives it a shorter 19.5-inch height, a 13.5-inch width, a 10-inch depth and a 1.4 L/kWh IEF. ADEL20LY is taller and wider, with the higher IEF; its published low/high sound ratings are 47/51 dBA versus ADEW20LY’s 48/52 dBA. The individual product pages and manuals establish each profile, so the facts should not be transferred across suffixes. Neither is currently manufactured, so these differences help existing owners identify their unit rather than choose a new purchase.

Who this assessment helps

Use this page if the rating label on an existing GE unit says ADEL20LY, or if you are checking its bucket, hose, fit or care routine. A lower gravity outlet is the only continuous route documented here; a raised drain requires a different exact model with a verified pump specification. A buyer looking for a current unit should compare products that are still supported and confirm their own installation details, not treat discontinued clearance listings or used stock as equivalent to a current recommendation.

In brief, ADEL20LY is a 20-pint reference model with a larger-than-compact cabinet, three speeds, a 6.8-pint tank and a gravity hose option that still requires its bucket. Its tall size, manufacturer-reported efficiency and simple two-route water plan distinguish it from ADEW20LY. Neither its rating nor a room-area label predicts the moisture load in your own space.

Key details at a glance

Published daily removal rating20 pt/day
Built-in lift pumpNo
Published bucket capacity0.85 gal
Published low-fan sound rating47 dBA
Published high-fan sound rating51 dBA
Published dimensions24 in H × 14.75 in W × 11.375 in D
Bucketless operating modeNo
Nested storage arrangementNo
Published product weight30.9 lb
Controls and settingsThree fan speeds, electronic controls, two-/four-hour off timer, automatic defrost and full-bucket shutoff are listed. Model-specific Wi-Fi is not established by the exact specification fields.
Water-removal setupThe exact 49-5000396 owner manual identifies the ADEL20 family (including ADEL20) and describes two water-removal methods. It requires the bucket to be reseated and securely seated for operation after attaching the gravity hose. Garden hose is not supplied. Bucket must be fitted and securely seated during hose operation; no bucketless configuration is documented.
Care and operating limitsManual calls for a level indoor location, 18 inches of clearance, operation from 41–90°F, filter check/cleaning at least every 250 hours and periodic bucket cleaning.
Exact model detailManufactured June 2019–August 2022; GE says no longer manufactured. Keep as an owner reference and exclude from current purchase matches.
Published integrated energy factor2 L/kWh

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check the route before the room-size claim.

Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.