Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What capacity does the exact UD701KOG1 document, and under what conditions?
The LG model-specific table lists 70 pints per 24 hours at 26.7°C (80°F) and 60% RH. Cooler or drier rooms remove less moisture; that rating is not a promise of your room output or equivalence to a different testing procedure.
Explore this need in the finder →Can its water go to a drain below the appliance, or does it support a raised pump route?
The owner manual shows a fitted tank or an external threaded garden hose to a nearby drain. It says to reinstall the tank and that the product will not work without it. No lift pump is documented.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the appliance keep its bucket during gravity drainage?
Yes. LG’s manual requires the bucket to be reinstalled after connecting the gravity hose and says the product does not operate without the bucket. Bucketless gravity is not a documented setup.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the exact discontinued model be treated as app-controlled?
The exact product/support pages and owner manual do not document Wi-Fi or app control. Do not count unknown connectivity as meeting a required app feature.
Explore this need in the finder →LG’s exact U.S. product and support records identify the discontinued PuriCare UD701KOG1; an LG-authored service specification lists 70 pints per 24 hours at 26.7°C and 60% relative humidity. Treat that as a dated, condition-specific reference, not a promise for every basement or a direct comparison with newer capacity labels. For an existing unit, the practical choice is straightforward: a fitted bucket or a hose draining downhill, with the bucket still installed.
Sources: LG’s exact U.S. product page identifies UD701KOG1 as discontinued; its exact support page lists the 2016 English manual. An LG-authored model-specific technical table states the rating conditions and electrical/dimensional data; LG product details give bucket and cabinet measurements. The owner manual MFL68026017 lists UD701KOG1 and UD701KOG2; LG dates the English edition to 2016.
The linked LG image shows a black rounded cabinet, right-side bucket seam, top outlet/control area and small casters; controls and drain hardware are not legible. LG warns images may be simulated or dramatized, so photo/render status is unknown and used-unit condition cannot be inferred.
Read the capacity number with its conditions
The technical table for this exact model lists 70 pints in 24 hours at 26.7°C and 60% RH. That temperature is about 80°F, and the source does not identify the figure as a current DOE procedure. A dehumidifier’s removal rate falls as air gets cooler or drier; the owner manual itself notes that low temperature and humidity reduce dehumidification. Use the figure to identify or compare this older model on its stated basis—not to promise 70 pints from a typical room or to assume it equals a modern product’s rating.
There is also a useful practical mismatch between daily rating and container size. LG lists a 13.3-pint removable bucket, far smaller than the amount the model is rated to collect in a full day under the service-table condition. Bucket operation therefore means checking and emptying it; a full-bucket light and automatic shutoff protect against overflow, but the unit stops removing moisture until the container is emptied. The capacity table does not specify a recommended room area, so a square-foot claim should not be inferred from the model number.
Drainage is gravity-only in the documented setup
The owner manual documents two water-handling arrangements: let condensate collect in the fitted bucket, or connect a 3/4-inch-outer-diameter threaded garden hose and route it to a nearby lower sink or drain. For continuous drainage, LG directs the owner to remove the bucket while attaching the hose, then reinstall it before running the unit. The manual explicitly says the dehumidifier will not work without its bucket. A hose can be purchased through LG; the sources do not say that one is included or provide a maximum hose length.
No built-in lift pump or pump-rise figure is specified for this exact model, so do not plan an uphill discharge. Its gravity hose needs a continuously descending path without kinks and an outlet lower than the appliance. Bucketless operation is not documented either. If your drain sits above the unit or you need the tank absent while it runs, the UD701KOG1 is not an evidenced fit; look for a different exact model whose manual supports that arrangement.
Controls and the one-hour standby cycle matter
The manual sets the target humidity from 30% to 80% RH in five-point steps and offers two fan speeds. Its timer is an automatic shutoff, adjustable from one to 12 hours, rather than an app schedule. After 23 hours of continuous operation, the fan and compressor stop for one hour as the Safety Standby routine, then restart automatically. This documented pause is part of the operating pattern; do not interpret it as a pump or connectivity feature.
The unit is specified for operation from 41°F to 90°F, with automatic defrosting. That lower limit can be relevant in a cool room, but it does not mean the machine keeps its high-temperature removal rate in a chilly basement. The model page and owner manual do not document Wi-Fi or phone control. If remote monitoring is an essential requirement, unknown connectivity cannot count as a match.
Measure the placement and plan the care
The LG technical record gives a cabinet about 16.8 inches wide, 26.2 inches high and 12.6 inches deep; the exact-page imagery and product details show rolling casters. LG’s model-specific product details list 48.5 pounds net, while its technical table rounds net mass as 21.7 kg. Because those manufacturer figures differ slightly, check a used unit’s nameplate if your carrying limit is strict. The owner manual calls for at least 11 13/16 inches of space from walls or obstacles. Leave room to pull the side bucket out and reach the rear drain connection.
The washable filter has a check-filter light after 350 hours; LG says to inspect it then and clean it about monthly. A damp or dusty filter, obstructed intake, or full bucket can interrupt useful operation. Before relying on a secondhand appliance, inspect the cord and plug, bucket, hose connection, wheel condition, filter housing, controls and safety-standby behavior. Model documentation says nothing about the condition, price or remaining life of any individual unit.
Who should keep this discontinued model in view?
The UD701KOG1 is most useful to someone identifying an existing PuriCare or comparing a used example who can accept an older, condition-specific 70-pint rating, a relatively small 13.3-pint bucket, and either manual emptying or lower gravity drainage with the tank fitted. It is a poor match for a required pump lift, documented bucketless running, a hard phone-app need, or anyone shopping as if it were a current new model. LG marks it discontinued, so this page is an owner/use reference—not a new-purchase recommendation. Compare a current, documented model against your measured drain route, temperature and available cabinet space instead of treating the older 70-pint number as a universal performance guarantee.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 70 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Published bucket capacity | 1.66 gal |
| Published bucket capacity | 13.3 pt |
| ENERGY STAR certified | Yes |
| Published dimensions | The exact LG technical table gives 427×665×321 mm (about 16.8×26.2×12.6 in); the LG-branded product details give the same inch dimensions. |
| Bucketless operating mode | No |
| Nested storage arrangement | No |
| Controls and settings | The exact manual lists local 30–80% RH settings in 5-point steps, two speeds, and a 1–12-hour automatic shutoff. The exact LG pages and matched manual do not document Wi-Fi/app control, so app capability is unknown. |
| Water-removal setup | Two documented arrangements: the fitted 13.3-pint bucket, or an external 3/4-in OD threaded garden hose to a nearby lower drain. LG says remove the bucket to connect the hose and reinstall it; operation without the bucket is not supported. The hose is purchased separately, and maximum gravity-hose length is not stated. No lift pump is documented. |
| Care and operating limits | The manual gives a 41–90°F operating range and automatic defrost. The filter-check light comes on after 350 hours; inspect and clean as needed, with monthly filter cleaning described. Safety Standby stops fan/compressor for one hour after 23 hours of continuous operation, then resumes. Keep at least 11 13/16 in (30 cm) from walls/obstacles. |
| Exact model detail | Discontinued LG PuriCare UD701KOG1: 70 pints/day at a stated 26.7°C/60% RH condition, 13.3-pint fitted tank, bucket or lower gravity drain only; no pump or bucketless plan is documented. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- LG U.S. exact product page for UD701KOG1
- LG U.S. support page for UD701KOG1.ABKEUS
- LG-authored service-manual specification table for UD701KOG1
- LG PuriCare UD701KOG1 product technical detail page
- LG-authored UD701KOG1 / UD701KOG2 owner manual P/NO MFL68026017
- LG media image linked by exact UD701KOG1 U.S. product page
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
