Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can the exact WHAD50PDW pump rise 16 feet, but not 16.1?
Its manual gives a maximum vertical rise of 16 feet above the drain fitting.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the pump route support up to a 50-foot total hose path?
The exact pump manual caps the route at 50 feet total; it does not state the exact included-kit length.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the pump manual document a tank-removed or bucketless setup?
No such mode is documented; a pump need can match, but an essential bucketless need cannot.
Explore this need in the finder →WHAD50PDW is the pump-equipped member of WhirlpoolHomeComfort's current four-model portable lineup. Its page publishes a 50-pint-per-day rating and a built-in pump; its exact owner guide makes the useful distinction: pump discharge may rise up to 16 feet above the drain fitting, and the complete pump-hose route must not exceed 50 feet. The included pump-hose kit is separate from the garden hose used for ordinary gravity drainage.
Sources are the exact WHAD50PDW product page, its owner manual with WHAD50PDW on the cover, and the family table listing WHAD50PDW by exact code. The exact product page's separate specification-sheet link resolves to a PDF headed by WHAD251AW, WHAD321AW, WHHD501AW and WHHD501PAW; that linked file is not used for WHAD50PDW facts. Whirlpool's brand page says XLS Products manufactures this line under license. No measured extraction, noise, current stock or price claim is made.
The exact-page-linked 1500-square image is the same exterior JPEG used for WHAD201DW and WHAD301DW. It shows the white Whirlpool cabinet and top controls, not its pump assembly or a model label. It is the correct page-linked exterior illustration, but the pixels cannot distinguish the pump version and Whirlpool does not say if it is a photo or render.
Measure two different things: lift and hose route
The WHAD50PDW manual allows a remote pump drain up to 16 feet above the unit and separately caps total pump-hose length at 50 feet. Measure vertical rise and the full route, including horizontal sections; stay within both and avoid kinks. The guide shows an included clear pump-hose kit but does not state its exact length. The separate low-level gravity drain uses a standard garden hose that the product page says is not included. Do not confuse that gravity hose with the pump kit.
The pump manual also shows a gravity route to a floor drain below the port, with a maximum 16-foot hose length for that setup. This is not the same as the 50-foot pump route. A lower outlet may make the pump unnecessary; a raised sink is when the lift limit matters. Above either manual limit, choose another documented setup rather than guessing.
Rating, size and source conflicts
The page lists 50 pints a day and up to 650 square feet; the family sheet names WHAD50PDW but says 4,500 square feet. That area conflict is unresolved, so neither is a room guarantee. The rating is useful for comparison, not a promise at every temperature or moisture load.
The page says a 14.8-pint bucket versus 14 in the family sheet, so exact capacity is unresolved; both confirm a full-tank alert and shutoff. The exact-code family table lists 15.04 by 12.01 by 25.20 inches and 42.7 pounds. The individual spec link is mismatched to newer Whirlpool codes; I reject it and use the table that actually lists WHAD50PDW.
Do not treat the pump as bucketless operation
In addition to the upward pump setup, the guide shows the appliance draining downward by gravity or collecting condensate in its tank. It does not give a tank-removed or bucketless mode. The manufacturer page mentions the bucket and its automatic full shutoff but does not explain the relationship between the tank and pump operation. For a hard bucketless requirement, this exact manual does not provide a positive plan; a built-in pump alone is not proof that the unit can run without its collection bucket. Use the installed bucket configuration and the manual's specified drain procedure rather than experimenting with the tank removed.
The manual lists two fan speeds, 35–80% humidity targets in five-point steps, room presets, a 24-hour timer, child lock, auto restart and defrost. The page says three speeds, but the manual and family sheet both say two. The sheet lists 520 watts, 115V and a 4.9-foot cord. Its sound numbers omit units, so they are not comparable dB or dB(A) results.
Setup and care take real attention
The manual gives a 41–95°F range, requires grounded three-prong power, a 15A time-delay fuse or breaker, and prohibits adapters and extension cords. Its R32 instructions say to keep vents clear, avoid nearby ignition sources and leave refrigerant work to qualified personnel. Use two people to move/install it and keep the hose away from electrical devices and walkways.
The washable filter reminder appears after about 250 operating hours; rinse and fully dry it before reinstalling. No pump-specific decibel result is published. Check the hose, discharge and filter for unattended runs rather than assuming the pump removes all maintenance.
Who should buy this exact configuration
Consider WHAD50PDW when its 50-pint class suits the load and your measured lift stays within 16 feet with a hose route no longer than 50 feet. WHAD501DW is the no-pump alternative for a lower drain. The active EPA query did not return WHAD50PDW, despite the brand's E-Star wording; verify the exact code if certification is essential. Whirlpool's buy link opens a general retailer directory, not a stock promise, so search the full code and check the carton/nameplate.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 50 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Built-in lift pump | Yes |
| Stated maximum vertical pump height | 16 ft |
| Published product weight | 42.7 lb |
| Controls and settings | The exact model-listed manual documents local electronic controls, two fixed fan speeds (High/Low), 35–80% RH targets in 5-point changes, Bedroom/Living Room/Basement presets, 24-hour timer, child lock, power-outage restart and automatic defrost. Exact page claims three speeds; the manual and family table agree on two. Wi-Fi/app control is not documented. |
| Water-removal setup | The exact manual covers bucket collection, gravity drainage to a lower outlet, and pump drainage. Its pump route is limited to 16 ft vertical rise above the drain fitting and 50 ft total hose; the included pump kit length is unstated. Its standard gravity hose is not included and the manual limits that gravity hose to 16 ft. Bucketless operation is not documented. |
| Care and operating limits | Manual allows 41–95°F operation; it is not a guarantee of equal removal at the lower boundary. Filter reminder appears after 250 operating hours; clean/rinse and completely dry the reusable filter. R32 safety instructions require ventilation openings to remain clear, avoid nearby ignition sources and leave refrigerant-circuit work to qualified personnel. Use a grounded three-prong outlet; no adapter or extension cord. Manual calls for a 15A time-delay fuse or breaker and two-person move/install. |
| Pump-hose reach | 50 ft |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- WhirlpoolHomeComfort current US dehumidifier catalog, four listed items
- WhirlpoolHomeComfort exact WHAD50PDW product page
- XLS/Whirlpool owner guide for WHAD50PDW
- WhirlpoolHomeComfort specification sheet explicitly listing WHAD201DW, WHAD301DW, WHAD501DW and WHAD50PDW
- WHAD50PDW exact page-linked exterior JPEG
- Official ENERGY STAR active dehumidifier dataset filtered to Whirlpool brand
- CPSC dehumidifier recall model index; exact WHAD identifiers not listed
- WhirlpoolHomeComfort general retailer directory reached from exact page Buy Now link
- Exact page-linked PDF URL content does not identify WHAD50PDW
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
