Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is a 50-pint class and ENERGY STAR certification part of your minimum?
Both exact finish pages advertise a 50-pint class and ENERGY STAR certification; EPA record 4572921 lists 49.81 pints/day under its program test, IEF 2.01 L/kWh and the white suffix as a related model.
Explore this need in the finder →Can a fitted bucket or downhill gravity route handle your condensate?
Yes. The exact owner manual supports fitted-bucket collection or continuous gravity drainage, with the bucket installed and the hose outlet at least four inches lower than the connection.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a built-in pump for an uphill outlet or a documented bucketless route?
No such plan is documented for either 50-pint finish. A bucket or lower gravity hose works; pump-lift and bucketless essentials do not.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a phone app, and will a 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi network be available?
LG lists ThinQ Wi-Fi and the family manual describes app connection on 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi. The EPA Connected Capable field is separately recorded as No; do not collapse that program field into LG’s app claim.
Explore this need in the finder →LG’s PuriCare Sonoran 50-pint smart dehumidifier is listed in two U.S. finishes: black DT501BKR0 and white DT501BWR0. They share a manual-listed chassis, 14.3-pint bucket claim, four operating modes and LG ThinQ Wi-Fi controls, so one capacity assessment covers both exact finish identities. The useful distinction from LG’s 25- and 35-pint models is the 50-pint class and ENERGY STAR record—not an uphill drain: this model has a bucket or lower gravity hose, no documented pump.
The exact DT501BKR0 black page and DT501BWR0 white page publish the 50-pint class, four modes, drainage hose and ThinQ Wi-Fi. The black support page and white support page identify both variants and their documents. The shared owner’s manual covers the DT50*B*R* group. The official EPA ENERGY STAR record names the black model and lists the white suffix in its additional-model section.
LG’s model-linked gallery supplies separate black and white exterior images. Both show the cabinet, top controls and a phone graphic; neither proves internal pump hardware. The manufacturer does not say whether these pictures are photographs or renderings.
50 pints is a capacity label, not a household result
LG’s product page says up to 50 pints per day and notes third-party testing on black DT501BKR0 under DOE Appendix X1 conditions at 65°F and 60% RH in Boost mode. EPA’s ENERGY STAR record lists 49.81 pints/day, a 2.01 L/kWh integrated energy factor and 524 kWh/year. Those numbers describe a standardized test record; they are not a prediction for your space. Check room temperature, humidity and moisture source; area claims are not guarantees.
Both finishes meet a 50-pint threshold; a strict requirement above 50 will not. EPA names DT501BKR0 and lists DT501BWR0 among related models, but its test values are not transferred to the 25- or 35-pint units. White has its own exact page and image; stock may differ.
The certification and app fields need careful wording
LG advertises ENERGY STAR certification on both exact product pages, and the EPA record verifies the 50-pint family. The EPA data report 49.81 pints/day tested, 2.01 L/kWh IEF, 524 kWh/year, HFC-32 refrigerant with GWP 675 and “Connected Capable: No.” That last program field does not erase LG’s separate ThinQ Wi-Fi claim: the product pages and owner manual describe app operation. The safest reading is to keep the manufacturer’s app capability and the EPA connected-capable field distinct rather than treating the terms as synonyms.
The exact pages and manual list Manual, Auto, Continuous and one-hour Boost. Manual sets 30–70% RH in five-point steps with Auto/Low/Medium/High fan; Auto does not expose a target. Continuous uses low fan; Boost runs high for one hour then returns to Auto. ThinQ requires 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi. Remote control cannot bypass a full tank or blocked drain.
Drainage is bucket or gravity, not lift pumping
LG illustrates a 14.3-pint collection bucket on the exact 50-pint product page. That tank is much smaller than a day’s advertised removal figure, so bucket use can require regular attention under demanding conditions. A fitted-bucket plan shuts down when full; it is not a hands-off continuous route.
The included 14.5-mm-inside-diameter hose supports continuous gravity drainage. The manual says to reinstall the bucket and place the hose outlet at least four inches below the drain connection. It does not state a total hose reach. The included adapter accepts a standard garden hose, but the garden hose itself is not in the listed accessory set. If the drain is uphill, do not treat the gravity hose as a pump: neither suffix is documented with a built-in lift pump or maximum height. The exact operating plans are bucket collection and downhill gravity with the bucket fitted; bucketless running is not established.
Compare cabinet space and maintenance with the smaller units
The manual lists DT50*B*R* at 16.73 × 11 × 23.86 inches (width × depth × height by its illustrated axes) and 120-volt, 60-Hz power. The 25- and 35-pint black models are narrower and shallower at 14.43 × 8.66 × 24.02 inches, but have the same height. LG asks for at least 12 inches of clearance from walls. It does not publish an exact dry weight in the reviewed owner’s manual or the exact product text used here, so do not infer stair handling from the cabinet dimensions.
Clean the pre-filter about monthly, let it dry fully in the shade, and reset the filter reminder. The manual lists a 38°F to 109°F operating range, automatic defrost, and an hour-long safety standby after 23 continuous hours. It also warns that some moisture remains in the appliance after operation, so switch it off before removing the bucket. Those are useful ownership details, but they are not independent reliability or noise tests. LG’s product imagery advertises a 40-dB quiet mode; no exact mode/test method was tied to that marketing graphic, so this review does not use it to meet a sound-level minimum.
Who this 50-pint pair fits
Compare the DT501BKR0/DT501BWR0 when a 50-pint class, confirmed ENERGY STAR certification, app features and the larger 14.3-pint bucket fit your priorities. Choose black or white by finish, not by an assumed performance difference. For a smaller capacity floor and narrower cabinet, compare the DT351BKR0 or DT251BKR0; their shared manual gives a different body size and their 25/35-pint class claims do not inherit this model’s EPA test values. For an uphill outlet or bucketless drain, shop a model whose exact manual documents that route and numeric lift. For an exact sound threshold or a carrying-weight cap, the unknown values here should not pass the filter. For a separate seller search of the white finish, use the exact model string LG DT501BWR0.
Key details at a glance
| Published daily removal rating | 50 pt/day |
|---|---|
| Built-in lift pump | No |
| Published bucket capacity | 1.79 gal |
| Published bucket capacity | 14.3 pt |
| Wi-Fi enabled | Yes |
| ENERGY STAR certified | Yes |
| Published dimensions | DT50*B*R* manual dimensions 16.73 × 11 × 23.86 inches; illustrated axes 1×2×3 correspond to width×depth×height. |
| Bucketless operating mode | No |
| Controls and settings | The exact-family owner manual lists Manual, Auto, Continuous and Boost. Manual mode permits 30–70% RH target in five-point steps and Auto/Low/Medium/High fan choices; Auto mode does not provide target adjustment; Continuous uses low fan; Boost uses high for one hour then returns to Auto. ThinQ is supported over 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi. |
| Water-removal setup | No built-in pump. The owner manual documents a fitted bucket, or an included 14.5-mm-ID gravity hose to an outlet at least four inches below the drain connection. The fitted bucket must be installed for gravity operation. Total gravity hose reach is not specified. |
| Care and operating limits | Owner manual range 38–109°F with automatic defrost; pre-filter cleaning is monthly. At least 12 inches of wall clearance is specified. Safety standby follows 23 hours of continuous use and lasts one hour. |
| Exact model detail | A 50-pint-class LG Sonoran smart dehumidifier listed in black and white finishes, with ThinQ Wi-Fi, EPA ENERGY STAR certification and bucket or lower gravity drainage. |
| Published integrated energy factor | 2.01 L/kWh |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- LG current U.S. dehumidifier catalog snapshot
- LG exact-model U.S. product support page
- LG exact DT501BKR0 U.S. product page
- LG exact DT501BWR0 U.S. product page
- LG exact DT501BWR0 U.S. product support page
- LG Sonoran DT50/35/25 family owner manual MFL05854901
- EPA ENERGY STAR record 4572921 for the 50-pint finish family
- LG exact-model gallery image associated with DT501BKR0 / DT501BWR0
- LG exact-model gallery image associated with DT501BWR0 white finish
Check the route before the room-size claim.
Match the rated capacity and drainage setup to a real place for the water to go.
